N54 with Catless DPs - Emissions Readiness and MHD

SalMoney13

Jul 31, 2023
Hi All:

After scouring the BMW-related forums, I have been unable to find definitive answers to my emissions-related questions regarding my N54 with catless downpipes. I understand that the answers to these sorts of questions can be specific to a particular vehicle's problems and modifications. However, I'm not asking for specific advice related to my car and situation. Instead, I'm hoping for some generalized information that might help others who have catless downpipes and a tune of some sort on their N54.

For context: I am new to the N54 tuning world - I just purchased an 08' 535xi that was modified by a previous owner to include a Wedge tune and the typical stage 2 components, namely catless downpipes, FMIC, intake, etc. I purchased an MHD flasher and monitor license. With my Wedge tune mapped, the Catalyst, O2, and Heated O2 monitors won't set, but I don't get any emissions-related CELs.

The questions:
  • For those with a catless downpipes and a tune, what options exist for getting monitors to show as either "ready" or "not available"?
    • It seems like the "Downpipe Fix" was a popular option 5+ years ago, but that option doesn't seem popular these days for whatever reason
    • Can this be handled by tuning alone?
  • What does MHD Stage 0 do for monitors? Should they all eventually show as "complete" with stage 0 mapped?
    • For someone with catted downpipes on Stage 0, what options (if any) need to be selected in MHD to avoid a catalyst-related CEL?

Any advice would be much appreciated. Happy to share more about my particular situation if it would be helpful.

n54praiser

Lurker
Sep 6, 2022
For those with a catless downpipes and a tune, what options exist for getting monitors to show as either "ready" or "not available"?