Turbo Advice

DS3IAM

Private
Mar 14, 2018
Ride
2009 E90 xDrive
Newbie here .. Need Turbo Upgrade advice - Goal DD around 500ish whp and be reliable.

2009 N54 E90 6MT Msport/Mtech
99K miles
Maintenance - all the general issues resolved
Index 12
Dinan Intercooler
Dinan CAI
Dinan Oil Cooler
AR Design DP
Stock Midpipe with cats
Dinan Exhaust
MHD v8 (previously Dinan stage 3)
Note: All the Dinan and AR DP mods was done by the first owner. I am the second owner.

Looking to upgrade turbos from stock without changing my Dinan parts and upgrading the fuel system. Is there any straight "plug and play" turbos on the market? What would you recommend? Please let me know what parts may require changing if there is no plug and play turbos?

While I am changing my turbos what maintenance items should I consider doing like Engine mounts and Oil Pan Gasket. Water Pump was changed about 10K miles ago.

Thanks in advance for all your suggestions and comments!

Mikejones1208

Corporal
Dec 6, 2016
Savannah, GA
Ride
2009 BMW 335i
Id sell those dinan parts off and buy better ones for cheaper, vrsf 7in. Hd outperforms the dinan unit by a landslide and is soooo much cheaper. As far as turbos go check out the new pure600 turbos, great company and awesome price for oem style twins that will still accept all your bolt ons and should put down 500whp with ease

Reactions: DS3IAM

DS3IAM

Private
Mar 14, 2018
Ride
2009 E90 xDrive
@Twisted Tuning and @Mikejones1208 Thanks for your suggestion .. Is there a difference between Pure Stage 2 vs. Pure 600? I notice there is a disclaimer on the PT website.

"-These will not work with OEM stock inlets. Aftermarket stock sized or 2" inlet kit is required. "

Does that mean I would have to change my inlet? I do like the look and performance of the Dinan CAI too.

My preference is to keep as much parts without selling and buying new parts.

Mikejones1208

Corporal
Dec 6, 2016
Savannah, GA
Ride
2009 BMW 335i