GWS unprogrammable

AKhkharux

Aug 13, 2022
I have a 2009 335i and the donor car for everything was a 2011 135i.

I have everything working correctly except for the GWS and now I have a few questions.

Question 1: GS40 on Zub 7600042 is not an option for me in WinKFP. Was this number superseded ar some point?

Question 2: Even though the base plate isn't compatible, Should I still be able to code the GWS module? I read on the dct to m3 conversion their shifter went dead after the flash and am wondering if I'm experiencing the same thing.

Thanks for your help in advance.

aus335iguy

Colonel
Nov 18, 2017
Down under
Ride
335i DCT 2009
You may already know this so I don’t mean to tread on toes.
I’m not experienced in DCT swap but I have in the past come across retrofit threads. The only thing I can contribute here is similar to coding M modules in a non M car your vehicle order and build date has to reflect all the modules that you’re trying to code.
So you may need to follow the instructions posted in here https://www.spoolstreet.com/threads/coding-m-modules-in-a-non-m-car.6190/
Hope this helps

AKhkharux

Aug 13, 2022
Also interested in this., have been running into program issues for the GWS

When I programmed my GWS it put the shifteinto an incomplete programming state that I'm assuming needs some kind of recovery bench flash to fix. I ended up ordering a new shifter and did not program the new one. Everything worked out for me after that. Let me know if you need more specific help.

UzziB12

Nov 25, 2022
Also having this issue, after you installed the new gws, did you get any transmission fault codes ?

AKhkharux

Aug 13, 2022
Also having this issue, after you installed the new gws, did you get any transmission fault codes ?

I could never get the parking lock to work, and had a communication code, but never caused any drivability issues.

Calamari_

Private
Jan 29, 2023