Clock spring re-install

LavosB

Lurker
May 3, 2020
Hey guys! Anyone with experience on how to re-install this ?? I was trying to install new steering wheel and this came off ... I’m a noob so please help ! 😅

Attachments

• 07D68818-0BE1-40DE-A289-ECC0C57E502B.jpeg
    07D68818-0BE1-40DE-A289-ECC0C57E502B.jpeg
    320.1 KB · Views: 22
  • Wow
Reactions: derekgates

derekgates

Lieutenant
Feb 23, 2018
NW FL
derekgates.us
Ride
2011 335is
Ouch. You can ... certainly rewind the clock spring... but I can't guarantee it will be 100% back to normal.

The ribbon that came out has traces that is read by 'copper fingers'. The pulses tell the car where the wheel is situated. I do not know how sensitive the computer will be to those changes.

I was not correct, it just returns the wheel back to position and powers the airbag. Shouldn't be too bad to rewind it, but I haven't done it before.

Can you source a used one? I found them for as low as $24 on Ebay: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_nkw=bmw+e90+clock+spring&_sacat=0&_sop=15

Last edited:

doublespaces

Administrator
Oct 18, 2016
AZ
Ride
2009 E93 335i
I did this once. I installed the steering wheel and didn't secure it and I pulled back on the steering wheel and ripped it off, spilling the clockspring guts.

You can take it off and rewind it, but the chances of you having it 100% again is not certain like Derek has stated. Unless you're on a budget, just buy a new one for peace of mind.

LavosB

Lurker
May 3, 2020
Ouch. You can ... certainly rewind the clock spring... but I can't guarantee it will be 100% back to normal.

The ribbon that came out has traces that is read by 'copper fingers'. The pulses tell the car where the wheel is situated. I do not know how sensitive the computer will be to those changes.

I was not correct, it just returns the wheel back to position and powers the airbag. Shouldn't be too bad to rewind it, but I haven't done it before.