Wheel slip or clutch slip?

mj6234

Corporal
Nov 25, 2020
I know there are some issues with this log (low rail pressure, throttle closures, etc) but ignore for now please. I am without the Helix and trying to see the limit on stock HPFP after messing with the VCV tables. This is E40 on GC Lites in 3rd gear if anyone cares.

Oh @carabuser - you told me months ago I had a vacuum/boost leak or bad solenoids. And it was a vacuum leak - a bad o-ring on one of the DVs. It really did matter for spool and other tuning (which I am still learning at).

I am curious if the 'flat line' of RPM at 4350 RPM and 4900 RPM is clutch slippage (I have 6MT) or wheelspin. I think it would be wheelspin? The RPM seem to hold steady (or drop slightly) for some period of time. If it was clutch slippage, wouldnt I see the RPM shoot up? For reference I have a 550i clutch on SMFW. I realize that I will exceed the limits of it at some point, just trying to figure out if I have already.

Last edited:

RSL

Lieutenant
Aug 11, 2017
WOT rpm curve is also effectively an acceleration rate plot. It may be nothing more than unevenness in the road, which should be somewhat obvious in the driver's seat.

If it's consistently there logging in other locations, get rid of some torque and see if it goes away. Otherwise, you can try logging wheel speeds. If the drive tire(s) speed relatively follows any RPM jogs, it's either tire spin or the road.

AzNdevil

Lieutenant
Staff member
Nov 4, 2016
Hong Kong
6mt? clutch is starting to slip...
hybrid twins + ethanol = twin plate clutch is pretty much a must
hybrid twins + pump = if you drive it hard enough you need a twin plate clutch as well

two easy ways to test this,
highway speeds (60ish mph) in 5th, floor it

mj6234

Corporal
Nov 25, 2020
6mt? clutch is starting to slip...
hybrid twins + ethanol = twin plate clutch is pretty much a must
hybrid twins + pump = if you drive it hard enough you need a twin plate clutch as well

two easy ways to test this,